UAE Cricket Team Reveals New Squad for Upcoming T20 Series Against New Zealand

Muhammad Waseem Assumes Captaincy for UAE T20 Team

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) cricket team is all set to host New Zealand for a thrilling three-match T20 International (T20I) series in Dubai. With the first T20I clash scheduled for Thursday (August 17th), anticipation is buzzing among cricket fans.

The home team has introduced their formidable 16-member squad, which showcases some exciting changes. One of the notable updates is the appointment of Muhammad Waseem as the new skipper, taking over from CP Rizwan, who held the T20I captaincy for almost a year. With previous experience leading the UAE side in ODIs, Waseem brings valuable leadership skills to the team. It’s worth mentioning that he captained the team during the World Cup Qualifiers a few months ago, where they faced a challenging outcome, losing five out of six matches.

In such a crucial series against a strong New Zealand side, the role of the opening batter becomes pivotal. The UAE squad has strategically selected a blend of players, including wicketkeeper-batter Vriitya Aravind, versatile batting all-rounder Basil Hameed, seasoned pacer Zahoor Khan, and emerging sensation Aayan Afzal Khan.

One of the most captivating highlights of this series is the potential T20I debut of Asif Khan. Asif, who previously secured the title of the fastest ODI century for an Associate nation, achieved a scorching century in just 43 balls – the fourth fastest century in men’s ODI cricket history. This incredible feat places him among renowned cricketers such as AB de Villiers, Corey Anderson, and Shahid Afridi. Despite his extensive experience in ODIs, Asif is yet to make his T20I debut. His aggressive batting prowess promises to pose a formidable challenge to the Kiwi bowlers, making him a key asset for the UAE team.

The UAE’s squad also introduces fresh faces in the form of all-rounder Faraazuddin and spin bowler Jash Giyanani. Both players have earned their maiden call-ups for the T20I series due to their impressive performances in domestic cricket. With a combination of experienced and emerging talents, the UAE side is well-prepared to deliver a spirited performance against New Zealand.

UAE’s T20I squad for the New Zealand series:

  1. Muhammad Waseem (c)
  2. Ali Naseer
  3. Ansh Tandon
  4. Aryansh Sharma
  5. Asif Khan
  6. Aayan Afzal Khan
  7. Basil Hameed
  8. Ethan D’Souza
  9. Mohammed Faraazuddin
  10. Jash Giyanani
  11. Junaid Siddique
  12. Lovepreet Singh
  13. Mohammad Jawadullah
  14. Sanchit Sharma
  15. Vriitya Aravind
  16. Zahoor Khan


In conclusion, the UAE Cricket Team has unveiled their new squad for the highly anticipated T20 series against New Zealand. With key changes in leadership, the addition of rising stars, and a mix of experienced players, the UAE squad is ready to deliver a compelling performance. Cricket enthusiasts can expect an electrifying showdown between these two teams in Dubai.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *